ERPNext vs Odoo for a Swiss SME

Two open-source ERPs, compared on what a Swiss SME needs: licence, cost, the Swiss localisation and AI agents.

In short

As of 28 October 2026

Odoo is a kit of many apps with a free Community edition and a paid Enterprise edition. ERPNext is under a free licence throughout, and its Swiss features come from an app maintained by a Swiss partner.

Both are ERP systems with sales, purchasing, inventory and accounting. Both need an implementation. If all you want is to keep the books of a small GmbH, a plain accounting product will often get you there faster.

Licence and cost

Prices: Odoo as of October 2026, Frappe Cloud as of September 2026 (frappe.io)

We read Odoo's prices in euros. According to Odoo, the Enterprise prices on its price page last only twelve months and apply only to the users ordered at the start; below is what we could confirm about the price after that.

Odoo Community
LGPLv3, free, self-hosted.
Odoo Enterprise
We could not read on odoo.com the list price that applies after the first year. Standard runs on Odoo Online only; Custom also runs on Odoo.sh or your own server. There is also One App Free: a single app for free, with unlimited users, on Odoo Online.
ERPNext
GPLv3, free, self-hosted.
ERPNext on Frappe Cloud
Hosted from USD 5 a month on shared servers and from USD 40 a month on dedicated servers, with a 14-day trial. Frappe does not state the VAT basis for either.

The Swiss localisation

As of 28 October 2026, from the source repositories

This is the biggest difference, and it is organisational: with Odoo, Switzerland belongs to the vendor; with ERPNext, to a partner.

Odoo, l10n_ch
Part of the Community code: the Swiss SME chart of accounts (2015), Swiss taxes, a QR-bill when the invoice is printed, QR-IBAN. The VAT return is defined in the Community code, but we did not find the view that displays it there. camt import, Swiss ISO 20022 payments, fixed assets and Swissdec-certified payroll are in Enterprise, not in Community 20.0.
ERPNext, erpnextswiss
An app by libracore AG under AGPL-3.0, not by Frappe itself. It adds the QR-bill and ESR, camt.053 and camt.054 import, pain.001 and pain.008 payment files, an EBICS connection, and the VAT return as an eCH-0217 file, for the effective and the Saldo method. It is actively maintained; the last commit on the main branch is from 27 October 2026.

ERPNext with erpnextswiss, Odoo Community, Odoo Enterprise

TILL and 3 other products, as of 28 October 2026. Every cell links its source.
What is comparedTILLERPNextwith erpnextswissOdooCommunityOdooEnterprise
The basics
Licence

GPL-3.0; erpnextswiss AGPL-3.0

Source

LGPL-3.0

Source

Proprietary (Odoo Enterprise licence)

Source
Where it runs

Your Mac or Linux computer, or a server you run

Note

There is no Windows app and no mobile app; TILL is not tested on Windows.

On the capabilities page

A server you run, or Frappe Cloud

Source

A server you run

Source

Odoo Online on Standard; Odoo.sh or your own server on Custom

Note

Odoo's price page offers the Standard plan on Odoo Online only, and the Custom plan on Odoo Online, Odoo.sh or on-premise.

Source
Where the data is stored, as the vendor states it

One SQLite file on your computer

On the capabilities page

Wherever you host it

Note

On Frappe Cloud, Frappe hosts it; we did not confirm the regions offered.

Source

Wherever you host it

Source

Not confirmed

Note

We could not confirm where Odoo Online stores the data of Swiss customers.

Price
Free tier and its limit

YesFree, no limit

Note

MIT licence: no limit on users, companies or bookings, and no subscription.

Source

YesFree, self-hosted

Source

YesFree, self-hosted

Source

PartlyOne App Free: one app, on Odoo Online

read 23 September 2026

Source
Cheapest plan with the MWST returnList price, as the vendor states the VAT basis and billing period

CHF 0, no plan

Note

There is no subscription. TILL prepares the return from the postings and writes the eCH-0217 file; you upload it in the ESTV ePortal yourself.

On the capabilities page

CHF 0, self-hosted

Note

The erpnextswiss app prepares the VAT declaration. Frappe Cloud hosting starts at USD 5 a month (VAT basis not stated).

Source

Not confirmed

Note

The Community code defines the Swiss VAT return, but we did not find the view that displays it there.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

We read Odoo's prices in euros, and its price page shows first-year prices for the users ordered at the start. We could not read on odoo.com the list price that applies after the first year.

Swiss obligations
Issues QR-bills

YesWith structured addresses

On the capabilities page

YesIn erpnextswiss

Source
MWST return as an eCH-0217 fileThe format the ESTV ePortal accepts for upload

YesEffective and Saldo

Note

Version 2.0.0. The beta computes on agreed consideration (vereinbarte Entgelte) only, and you upload and file the return in the ESTV ePortal yourself.

On the capabilities page

YesEffective and Saldo

Note

In the erpnextswiss app (AGPL-3.0): XML templates in the eCH-0217 version 2 namespace.

Source

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Note

Odoo's Swiss localisation documentation does not mention an eCH-0217 export.

Source
Swissdec-certified payroll

NoA hand-off

Note

TILL exports your employee data for your payroll provider and books the wage journal you bring back. Pay slips, AHV and Swissdec filings stay with the provider.

On the capabilities page

Not confirmed

Note

erpnextswiss writes the salary certificate (Lohnausweis); we found no Swissdec certification.

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no payroll module.

Source

YesELM 5.3

Note

Listed by Swissdec as certified basic for ELM 5.3, 5.1 and 5.0.

Source
Bank and payments
Imports camt.053/054 statements

Partlycamt.053

Note

camt.054 notifications are not read; import the day-end camt.053.

On the capabilities page

Yescamt.053 and camt.054, in erpnextswiss

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no camt import module.

Source

Yescamt.053

Source
Writes pain.001 payment files

YesIn erpnextswiss

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no ISO 20022 payments module.

Source

YesSwiss ISO 20022

Source
Direct bank connection

NoNot in the beta

Note

The EBICS client is built, but the module that connects it to your bank ships later. Until then you import camt.053 files from your eBanking.

On the capabilities page

YesEBICS in erpnextswiss

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no bank synchronisation module.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

Odoo documents bank synchronisation providers; we could not confirm Swiss bank coverage.

Source
Sends eBills

NoNot in the beta

Note

TILL packages an invoice as an eBill, but sending it is not in the beta.

On the capabilities page

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Openness and agents
Public API

YesMCP, and a local REST twin of every verb

On the capabilities page

YesREST, from the Frappe framework

Source

YesExternal API

Source

Not confirmed

Note

We could not confirm on odoo.com which Enterprise plan includes the external API.

Official MCP server for AI agentsMade by the vendor itself, not a community project

YesRead and write

Note

By default, your agent waits for your OK before it books anything, moves your money, grants access or deletes your data for good.

On the capabilities page

YesRead and write

Note

Built into the Frappe framework since v16.53.0 (22.10.2026), on by default, with the signed-in user's permissions.

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no AI or MCP module.

Source

YesRead, and write if enabled

Note

In the AI app of Odoo 20 (24.09.2026). Read tools are exposed by default; an administrator can expose write tools.

Source
Full data export without a subscription

YesThere is no subscription

Note

A whole company exports in an open, documented format, and the books are a file you hold.

On the capabilities page

YesYour own database

Source

YesYour own database

Source

Not confirmed

Beyond the books
Inventory, projects and time, CRM, fixed assets, multi-currency

YesAll five

Note

Inventory with lots, projects and time, a sales pipeline, fixed assets with depreciation, and multi-currency.

On the capabilities page

YesAll five

Source

PartlyInventory, projects and time, CRM, multi-currency

Note

Fixed assets are not in Community 20.0.

Source

YesAll five

Source

Key:YesPartlyNoNone found(we looked in what the vendor publishes, on the date read, and found none)Not confirmed(we could not confirm it from a vendor source)

AI agents and MCP

As of 28 October 2026

Odoo 20 (24.09.2026) ships an MCP server in its AI app, through which an external AI agent reaches the Odoo database. Read tools are exposed by default, and an administrator can expose write tools. The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no AI or MCP module; the server belongs to Enterprise.

ERPNext runs on the Frappe framework, which has had a built-in MCP server since version 16.53.0 (22.10.2026). It is on by default and works with the permissions of the signed-in user. There are also third-party apps, such as Frappe Assistant Core.

Which one fits?

As of 28 October 2026

Odoo fits if you want a broad suite from one vendor that maintains the Swiss localisation itself. Before you start, find out whether you need Enterprise for the VAT return.

ERPNext fits if a free licence throughout matters to you and you are happy to rely on a Swiss partner, through erpnextswiss, to carry the localisation.

Either way, introducing an ERP is a project. Budget time for setup, data migration and training, even when the licence costs nothing.

Where TILL stands

TILL is an open-source ERP too, built differently. The licence is MIT, and the books sit locally in one SQLite file. The Swiss obligations live in the core rather than in an app, and the interface has been an MCP server from the start.

TILL is a public beta. Payroll, sending email and a direct bank connection are still missing, and the interface is in German and English only. If you need an ERP without those gaps today, TILL is not the one to pick yet.

What TILL does not do yet

TILL is a public beta. These are its limits today, in the same words on every page:

  • No payroll of its own. TILL exports your employee data for your payroll provider and books the wage journal you bring back.
  • No MWST filing from TILL. It writes the eCH-0217 file, and you upload it in the ESTV ePortal.
  • No MWST on received consideration (vereinnahmte Entgelte): TILL computes the return on agreed consideration only.
  • No email sending yet. TILL makes the PDF of an invoice, quote or reminder, and you send it from your own mail program.
  • German (de-CH) and English only. No French or Italian yet.
  • Runs on macOS and Linux; Windows is not supported (we do not test on it), and there is no mobile app.
  • No direct bank connection in the beta. You import camt.053 statements from your eBanking.
  • On your own computer, backups run when you start them, not on a schedule.
  • Several people in one book only on a server you host yourself. The local app is for one computer.
  • No eBill sending, no e-signature and no online customer portal.

TILL is an independent project. It is not derived from any product on this page, and it is not affiliated with any of their vendors.

Try it

TILL is free, with no account and no subscription. Keep your current program running until the figures match.