Swiss accounting software compared

bexio, Banana, CashCtrl, AbaNinja, Klara, Infinity, Odoo and ERPNext side by side: what they cost, where the free tier ends, where your data lives and what they do for Swiss obligations. Every cell with its source.

The honest answer first

TILL is a public beta. Nomadik GmbH keeps its own books in it, but some things are still missing, such as payroll, sending email and a direct bank connection. If you switch, keep your current program running until the figures match. If you need a finished product today without a parallel run, one of the products below will serve you better.

The table compares them using what the vendors publish themselves. Every cell links its source and carries a date. Where we could not confirm a point from a vendor source, the cell says “Not confirmed”, never a guess.

TILL and 9 other products, as of 28 October 2026. Every cell links its source.
What is comparedTILLbexioBanana Accounting PlusCashCtrlAbaNinjaKlaraInfinityOdooCommunityOdooEnterpriseERPNextwith erpnextswiss
The basics
Licence

Proprietary

Source

Proprietary, yearly subscription

Source

Proprietary

Source

Proprietary

Source

Proprietary

Source

Proprietary

Source

LGPL-3.0

Source

Proprietary (Odoo Enterprise licence)

Source

GPL-3.0; erpnextswiss AGPL-3.0

Source
Where it runs

Your Mac or Linux computer, or a server you run

Note

There is no Windows app and no mobile app; TILL is not tested on Windows.

On the capabilities page

Vendor cloud, in the browser and apps

Source

Desktop program for Windows, macOS and Linux, plus apps

read 23 September 2026

Source

Vendor cloud

Source

Vendor cloud, in the browser

Source

Vendor cloud

Source

Vendor cloud

Source

A server you run

Source

Odoo Online on Standard; Odoo.sh or your own server on Custom

Note

Odoo's price page offers the Standard plan on Odoo Online only, and the Custom plan on Odoo Online, Odoo.sh or on-premise.

Source

A server you run, or Frappe Cloud

Source
Where the data is stored, as the vendor states it

One SQLite file on your computer

On the capabilities page

Switzerland

Note

bexio's website says customer data is stored in certified Swiss data centres. Its privacy FAQ reserves storing encrypted backups in data centres in Switzerland and abroad.

Source

Files on your device

Source

Switzerland

Note

Its terms of service say the servers are exclusively in Switzerland.

Source

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Switzerland

Note

Its pricing page says financial data is stored on Swiss servers.

Source

Wherever you host it

Source

Not confirmed

Note

We could not confirm where Odoo Online stores the data of Swiss customers.

Wherever you host it

Note

On Frappe Cloud, Frappe hosts it; we did not confirm the regions offered.

Source
Price
Free tier and its limit

YesFree, no limit

Note

MIT licence: no limit on users, companies or bookings, and no subscription.

Source

NoNo free plan; 30-day trial

Source

YesFree plan up to 70 transaction rows per file

Note

Above that, the file can no longer be saved, copied or printed.

Source

YesFREE: 1 user, 1 organisation

Source

YesStarter: 1 user, 1'000 documents a year, without MWST

Source

NoNo free plan found

Source

NoNo free plan found

Source

YesFree, self-hosted

Source

PartlyOne App Free: one app, on Odoo Online

read 23 September 2026

Source

YesFree, self-hosted

Source
Cheapest plan with the MWST returnList price, as the vendor states the VAT basis and billing period

CHF 0, no plan

Note

There is no subscription. TILL prepares the return from the postings and writes the eCH-0217 file; you upload it in the ESTV ePortal yourself.

On the capabilities page

Not confirmed

Note

bexio lists the VAT form and VAT journal in its package comparison; we could not confirm from which package. Since 1.3.2026 the packages are Basic, Advanced, Optima and Ultimate, at CHF 35, 42, 69 and 119 a month billed yearly (CHF 10 more billed monthly), excl. MWST.

Source

Advanced, CHF 179 a year incl. MWST

Note

The VAT report and the ESTV XML file need the Advanced plan.

Source

FREE, CHF 0

Note

The FREE plan includes VAT booking with a tax report, whose figures you transfer to the ESTV form. An eCH-0217 file is not confirmed.

Source

Basic, CHF 21 a month; billing period and VAT basis not stated

Note

Starter has no MWST. The price page states neither whether the price includes MWST nor whether it is billed monthly or yearly.

Source

Business Basic, CHF 55 a month billed yearly (CHF 69 monthly), excl. MWST

Note

KLARA's own comparison page says all accounting features, VAT reporting included, are in Business Basic. KLARA states its prices excl. VAT.

Source

Pro, CHF 38 a month billed yearly (CHF 45 monthly), excl. MWST

Note

The effective-method VAT return starts at Pro; which plan settles the Saldo method was not confirmed.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

The Community code defines the Swiss VAT return, but we did not find the view that displays it there.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

We read Odoo's prices in euros, and its price page shows first-year prices for the users ordered at the start. We could not read on odoo.com the list price that applies after the first year.

CHF 0, self-hosted

Note

The erpnextswiss app prepares the VAT declaration. Frappe Cloud hosting starts at USD 5 a month (VAT basis not stated).

Source
Swiss obligations
Issues QR-bills

YesWith structured addresses

On the capabilities page

YesAlso on FREE

Source

YesAlso on Starter

Source

YesWith structured addresses

Source

YesIn erpnextswiss

Source
MWST return as an eCH-0217 fileThe format the ESTV ePortal accepts for upload

YesEffective and Saldo

Note

Version 2.0.0. The beta computes on agreed consideration (vereinbarte Entgelte) only, and you upload and file the return in the ESTV ePortal yourself.

On the capabilities page

Not confirmed

Note

We found no eCH-0217 export in bexio's help centre, which describes saving the VAT form as a PDF and exporting the VAT journal to Excel.

Source

YesEffective and Saldo

Plan: Advanced

Note

eCH-0217 2.0.0 for 2025 periods, through an extension that needs the Advanced plan.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

CashCtrl's roadmap lists an E-MWST XML file; we could not confirm that it has shipped.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

AbaNinja's help describes its VAT overview as a fill-in aid for the ESTV form. We found no eCH-0217 export.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

A KLARA article describes downloading an XML file for the ESTV portal; we could not confirm the eCH-0217 version.

Source

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Note

Odoo's Swiss localisation documentation does not mention an eCH-0217 export.

Source

YesEffective and Saldo

Note

In the erpnextswiss app (AGPL-3.0): XML templates in the eCH-0217 version 2 namespace.

Source
Swissdec-certified payroll

NoA hand-off

Note

TILL exports your employee data for your payroll provider and books the wage journal you bring back. Pay slips, AHV and Swissdec filings stay with the provider.

On the capabilities page

YesELM 5.3

Note

Listed by Swissdec. An add-on from Advanced, included in Ultimate.

Source

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Note

Payroll is part of PRO; we could not confirm a Swissdec certification.

Source

Yes21.AbaSalary, ELM 5.0

Note

Certification as stated by Swiss21.org.

Source

YesELM 5.3

Note

Listed by Swissdec.

Source

PartlyThrough a certified partner

Note

An add-on at CHF 9 per employee a month, excl. MWST. Infinity says it runs through a Swissdec-certified partner.

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no payroll module.

Source

YesELM 5.3

Note

Listed by Swissdec as certified basic for ELM 5.3, 5.1 and 5.0.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

erpnextswiss writes the salary certificate (Lohnausweis); we found no Swissdec certification.

Source
Bank and payments
Imports camt.053/054 statements

Partlycamt.053

Note

camt.054 notifications are not read; import the day-end camt.053.

On the capabilities page

Yescamt.053 upload, and through bank interfaces

Source

Yescamt.052, .053, .054

Source

Yescamt.052, .053, .054

Plan: PRO

Source

Not confirmed

Yescamt.053 upload

Source

Yescamt.053 upload

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no camt import module.

Source

Yescamt.053

Source

Yescamt.053 and camt.054, in erpnextswiss

Source
Writes pain.001 payment files

YesAs a file or through a bank interface

Source

PartlyBeta extension

Plan: Advanced

Note

The Payment Orders extension writes pain.001 (version 2019). Banana marks it beta, and it needs the Advanced plan.

Source

PartlyFor salaries

Plan: PRO

Note

Payroll pays salaries with a pain.001 file. A pain.001 run for supplier bills was not confirmed.

Source

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no ISO 20022 payments module.

Source

YesSwiss ISO 20022

Source

YesIn erpnextswiss

Source
Direct bank connection

NoNot in the beta

Note

The EBICS client is built, but the module that connects it to your bank ships later. Until then you import camt.053 files from your eBanking.

On the capabilities page

YesBank interfaces such as bLink

Source

No

Note

Banana's documentation: it is not possible to connect directly to the bank.

Source

Not confirmed

YesPermanent bank connections

Plan: Basic

Source

YesWith some banks

Source

Yes10 or more Swiss banks

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no bank synchronisation module.

Source

Not confirmed

Note

Odoo documents bank synchronisation providers; we could not confirm Swiss bank coverage.

Source

YesEBICS in erpnextswiss

Source
Sends eBills

NoNot in the beta

Note

TILL packages an invoice as an eBill, but sending it is not in the beta.

On the capabilities page

PartlyThrough a partner app

Source

No

Note

Banana's invoice documentation lists sending eBills among the features not available yet.

Source

Not confirmed

Yes21 a month included

Plan: Basic

Note

Further eBills cost CHF 0.39 each.

Source

Yes

Note

eBill is one of the delivery channels in KLARA's API documentation.

Source

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Openness and agents
Public API

YesMCP, and a local REST twin of every verb

On the capabilities page

YesREST

Note

We could not confirm whether every package includes API access.

Source

PartlyLocal and read-only

Plan: Advanced

Source

YesREST

Plan: PRO

Source

YesREST

Plan: Basic

Source

YesREST

Source

YesREST, in every plan

Source

YesExternal API

Source

Not confirmed

Note

We could not confirm on odoo.com which Enterprise plan includes the external API.

YesREST, from the Frappe framework

Source
Official MCP server for AI agentsMade by the vendor itself, not a community project

YesRead and write

Note

By default, your agent waits for your OK before it books anything, moves your money, grants access or deletes your data for good.

On the capabilities page

None found

Note

Community-built MCP servers for bexio exist; we found none published by bexio.

Source

None found

Note

A community server reads Banana's local API; we found none published by Banana.

Source

None found

Note

A community server uses the CashCtrl API; we found none published by CashCtrl.

Source

None found

Note

A community server uses the AbaNinja API; we found none published by the vendor.

Source

YesRead and write

Note

KLARA MCP: a write only prepares a change, and you approve it in the browser.

Source

YesIn every plan

Note

Infinity names bookings, invoicing and receipt matching among the tasks an agent can automate.

Source

NoNot in Community 20.0

Note

The Odoo Community 20.0 source has no AI or MCP module.

Source

YesRead, and write if enabled

Note

In the AI app of Odoo 20 (24.09.2026). Read tools are exposed by default; an administrator can expose write tools.

Source

YesRead and write

Note

Built into the Frappe framework since v16.53.0 (22.10.2026), on by default, with the signed-in user's permissions.

Source
Full data export without a subscription

YesThere is no subscription

Note

A whole company exports in an open, documented format, and the books are a file you hold.

On the capabilities page

PartlyUntil one month after the contract ends

Note

bexio's terms give one month after termination to request the data, after which it is deleted. bexio's help names PDF and Excel exports and no database dump; contacts also export as CSV.

Source

Not confirmed

PartlyExports on the FREE plan

Note

The FREE plan exports to PDF, Excel and CSV; a complete export of all data was not confirmed.

Source

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

Not confirmed

YesYour own database

Source

Not confirmed

YesYour own database

Source
Beyond the books
Inventory, projects and time, CRM, fixed assets, multi-currency

YesAll five

Note

Inventory with lots, projects and time, a sales pipeline, fixed assets with depreciation, and multi-currency.

On the capabilities page

PartlyInventory, projects and time, CRM, foreign currency

Note

Inventory and projects from the Optima package. Fixed assets through a partner app.

Source

PartlyInventory, fixed assets, multi-currency, time sheet

Note

Multi-currency from the Professional plan. We found no CRM.

Source

PartlyFixed assets, stock items, multi-currency

Note

Multi-currency needs PRO. We found no projects or time tracking.

Source

PartlyStock, time tracking, foreign-currency documents

Source

PartlyInventory, projects and time, CRM

Source

PartlyProjects and time, multi-currency

Note

We found no inventory.

Source

PartlyInventory, projects and time, CRM, multi-currency

Note

Fixed assets are not in Community 20.0.

Source

YesAll five

Source

YesAll five

Source

Key:YesPartlyNoNone found(we looked in what the vendor publishes, on the date read, and found none)Not confirmed(we could not confirm it from a vendor source)

Not in the table

Abacus (Abacus Research AG) is business software for larger companies, sold as modules and mostly through fiduciary and sales partners. It is not in the table because a module-by-module, partner-priced suite does not compare like for like with the products above. Source, read 28 October 2026

Run my Accounts (part of the Infoniqa group) is mainly an online bookkeeping service in which a fiduciary keeps your books; it also sells its software for booking yourself. It is not in the table because its offer centres on the service. Source, read 28 October 2026

What actually matters

Legal position as of October 2026

The VAT return should be computed from the postings, not kept next to them. Since 1 January 2024 the rates are 8.1, 3.8 and 2.6 percent, and a period that straddles the change needs the old rates as well. The return is filed through the ESTV ePortal, which accepts a file in the eCH-0217 format, so you do not have to type the figures in.

The QR-bill replaced the red and orange payment slips on 1 October 2022. Almost any software can print one today. The difference lies in the structured address and in matching incoming payments from the bank’s camt files automatically.

And the way out: business records must be kept for ten years (Swiss Code of Obligations, Art. 958f). In ten years a vendor can change its prices, its plans or its owner. Before you start, check that you can get all of your data back out, in a format you can read.

Where your data lives

As of 28 October 2026

bexio, CashCtrl, AbaNinja, Klara and Infinity run in the vendor’s cloud. There is nothing to install and the vendor takes the backups. In return the books sit on the vendor’s servers, and access depends on the subscription.

Banana keeps each set of books as a file on your device. Odoo (Community, and Enterprise on the Custom plan) and ERPNext can be self-hosted, on your own server, with your own effort for updates and backups.

TILL belongs to the second group: one file, on your machine, and TILL creates no outbound connection of its own.

Where TILL is different, and where it is not

As of 28 October 2026

The interface to TILL is an MCP server: an AI agent can post entries, write invoices and prepare the VAT return, and you decide in the Studio. That is no longer unusual. Infinity and Klara, two Swiss vendors, ship official MCP servers, Odoo 20 has one in the Enterprise AI app, and the Frappe framework under ERPNext has one built in.

What TILL offers is the combination: the MIT licence, local rather than cloud, and the Swiss obligations in the core rather than in a country pack. What TILL lacks is maturity. That is deliberately not in the small print.

Comparisons in depth

What TILL does not do yet

TILL is a public beta. These are its limits today, in the same words on every page:

  • No payroll of its own. TILL exports your employee data for your payroll provider and books the wage journal you bring back.
  • No MWST filing from TILL. It writes the eCH-0217 file, and you upload it in the ESTV ePortal.
  • No MWST on received consideration (vereinnahmte Entgelte): TILL computes the return on agreed consideration only.
  • No email sending yet. TILL makes the PDF of an invoice, quote or reminder, and you send it from your own mail program.
  • German (de-CH) and English only. No French or Italian yet.
  • Runs on macOS and Linux; Windows is not supported (we do not test on it), and there is no mobile app.
  • No direct bank connection in the beta. You import camt.053 statements from your eBanking.
  • On your own computer, backups run when you start them, not on a schedule.
  • Several people in one book only on a server you host yourself. The local app is for one computer.
  • No eBill sending, no e-signature and no online customer portal.

TILL is an independent project. It is not derived from any product on this page, and it is not affiliated with any of their vendors.

Try it

TILL is free, with no account and no subscription. Keep your current program running until the figures match.